Data Skeptic

I was able to get in a couple of workouts at the gym while on vacation this week, giving me an opportunity to catch up on some podcast listens. The Cloud of Data podcast didn't have any new shows but I discovered a nice new podcast, Data Skeptic. What I really like about this podcast is that it alternates between short, usually no more than about ten minutes, primers on a topic like p-values, and longer podcast interviews with working pros or researchers. The host, Kyle Polich, adds some fun to the shorter sessions by having his wife, Linda, as a co-host. She doesn't have a technical or data science background which leads to an amusing interplay between the two of them as Kyle unveils the meaning behind the featured topic.

Some nice resources are also available from the Data Skeptic site, including a link to OpenIntro, a freely-downloadable Statistics e-book with separate exercises, videos and forum. It's a pretty cool site, and I hope to use it to enhance my statistics knowledge. Kyle also publishes show notes and other info related to the podcast on GitHub.